|  Written by Dwayne Richards  |  0
Scott Kuggeleijn,Hero CPL, CPLT20,Darren Bravo,Lendl Simmons,Kieron Pollard,cricket,caribbean cricket,St. Lucia Zouks,Trinbago Knight Riders,Ali Khan,Zahir Khan,

Photo: Lendl Simmons produced his best batting innings of the season to guide the perfect Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) to their fourth Hero CPL title (Getty Images)





Lendl Simmons produced his best batting display, scoring 84 not out, to guide the perfect Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) to their fourth Hero CPL title, as they overcame first time finalists the St. Lucia Zouks to win by 8 runs, at the Brian Lara Cricket Stadium on Thursday,

 |  Written by Oshae Hudson  |  0

Photo: Stafanie Taylor (WICB Photo)

The International Cricket Council (ICC) in the last 24 hours has released the names of the players who have been short-listed in various categories for the upcoming annual ICC awards ceremony, which will be presented in front of a global audience in the second weekend of November.

According to a ICC media release the period under consideration are the 13 months between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, the LG ICC Awards 2014 will take into account performances by players in what has been a remarkable period for the game.

 |  Written by Anonymous (not verified)  |  0

DUBAI, UAE (AFP) -- Former Pakistan captain Ramiz Raja on Sunday demanded cricket's lawmakers save the controversial 'doosra' delivery, saying it provides a new dimension to the batsmen-dominated game.

The 'doosra' -- a delivery which turns the other way than the normal off-break -- has come under greater scrutiny as bowlers straighten their bowling arm beyond 15 degrees, the permitted point under the International Cricket Council (ICC) rules.

 |  Written by Anonymous (not verified)  |  0

MUMBAI, India (CMC) — West Indies allrounder Darren Sammy says the absence of talismanic opener Chris Gayle should not jolt the confidence of the Caribbean side as they prepare to battle India in a five-match One-Day International (ODI) series.

Gayle, who has been struggling with a lower-back injury and had missed the final Test against Bangladesh last month, will miss the limited-overs leg of the India tour as well.

The first ODI takes place in Kochi on Wednesday.

 |  Written by Anonymous (not verified)  |  0

A new champion will be crowned on Monday at Kensington Cricket Ground in Kingston at the final of the 25th Kingston Wharves Under 15 Cricket Competition when former champion St. Elizabeth take on first time finalist Kingston in their 50-over a side match-up starting at 9:30 am.

The two semi final matches were played on Friday at Seaview Cricket Ground at Whitehouse in Westmoreland between St. Elizabeth and Westmoreland and at Ultimate Cricket Ground in Discovery Bay St. Ann between St. Ann and Kingston.

 |  Written by Dwayne Richards  |  0

Photo: The Honourable Natalie Nieta-Headley, Minister with responsibility for Sport cuts the ribbon to open the Ruddy Williams Centre for Excellence at the Kensington Oval on Tuesday August 19th, 2014. Also in photo, Ruddy Williams (left) and club chairman Mark Neita (right)

Ruddy Williams joined the Kensington Cricket Club in 1964, which means he is in his 50th year as a member and he has been a stalwart member ever since.

 |  Written by Anonymous (not verified)  |  0

BASSETERRE, St Kitts — An excellent opening partnership between Lendl Simmons and Martin Guptill set up a thumping victory for the Guyana Amazon Warriors as they booked their place in the Limacol Caribbean Premier League final with ease at Warner Park yesterday.

Both openers reached half- centuries as defending champions, the Jamaica Tallawahs, were eliminated from the tournament. Both knocks were near chanceless efforts as they became the first side to win a CPL match by 10 wickets.

 |  Written by Dwayne Richards  |  0

Westmoreland, former champion of the Kingston Wharves Under 15 Cricket Competition defeated Hanover by eight wickets yesterday in a low scoring match. Hanover was invited to take first strike but were quickly all out for forty-nine in just twenty-three overs. None of the batsmen made any meaningful contribution while Rajay Simpson was the main destroyer taking five for fourteen.

Westmoreland came in and made light work of the paltry total after racing to fifty for two to end the match quite early at Elgin Town Cricket Ground in Hanover. Sam Sanderson made twenty-five not out.

 |  Written by Anonymous (not verified)  |  0

St. Ann posted a big win yesterday against St. Mary by nine wickets at Boscobel Sports Club. St. Ann won the toss and invited St. Mary to take first strike. They made a paltry 69 all out with Christlyn McKenzie 30 top scoring. Kevorn Hinds 5 for 10 and Blaine Rose 3 for 23 took the bulk of the wickets.

St. Ann replied with 70, losing just one wicket. Andre Smiley 42 not out scored the most runs while Tajae Coke took the lone wicket for 25 in four overs.