Women’s 400 hurdles final – an event to watch at National Championships

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
National Athletics Championships,Rhonda Whyte,Janieve Russell,Leah Nugent,Rushell Clayton,Ristananna Tracey

Photo: Leah Nugent (left) and Rhonda Whyte attack the final hurdle in semifinal two of the women's 400m hurdles at the National Athletic Championships in Kingston Jamaica last night. Whyte won the race in 55.04 while Nugent’s was second in 55.32.




The women’s 400m hurdles final will be an event to watch at the National Athletics Finals tonight. The semifinals of the event took place on Thursday and have set up what is expected to be a sizzling final tonight at 7:50pm.

In semifinal one, Commonwealth Games champion Janieve Russell of MVP continued her fine form as she cruised home in 54.84s. Rushell Clayton was second in a personal best of 55.10 while the Tracey sisters, Nikita (55.41) and Ristananna (55.55) were third and fourth respectively. All four advanced to tonight’s final.

In semifinal two, National champion Rhonda Whyte of Sprintec produced her trademark late burst over the last hurdle as she used her superior foot speed to get the better of Leah Nugent. Whyte stopped the clock at 55.04 compared to Nugent’s 55.32. Shiann Salmon who is headed to Texas University was third in 56.57.

Russell will head into the final as favourite based on form but will be weary of the fast finishing Whyte while Clayton will certainly be eyeing a top three finish and another personal best as she continues to improve in the discipline.

Jaheel Hyde failed to show for the men’s event. Andre Clarke of Chase Athletics took semifinal one in 48.45 which was the fastest time posted on the night. Kemar Mowatt who is looking to regain his form of two seasons’ ago was second in 48.96 while Annsert Whyte who is returning from injury was third in 49.05.  

In semifinal two a relaxed looking Shawn Rowe was first across the tape in 50.16, Romel Lewis was second in 50.44 and Ricardo Cunningham third in 50.46.

The Men’s final will be run at 8:00pm.