Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
West Indies,Jason Holder,Australia,

Photo: West Indies Captain Jason Holder

When both team met earlier this year in the Caribbean, it was a clean sweep for the touring side as Australia won 2-0, but the tour down under that will get on its way on Wednesday grants the West Indies team an opportunity for redemption.

Captain Jason Holder is expecting a more consistent performance from his team in the upcoming three-match Test series against Australia.

The Barbadian is confident that his side will put up a strong challenge against Australia. He was quoted at the match press conference on Tuesday saying, “We are very upbeat about this series. It’s a fresh series for us, so we have to be positive going into it. If we realistically do what we have to do in terms of executing our roles then anything is possible on any given day.

"The onus has to be upon each player to perform their role and execute their plans. Once we do that we can put together a strong collective effort.”

In their warm up match against Cricket Australia XI, the team was bamboozled, slumping to a 10 wickets defeat against a team consisting mostly of first-class debutants. The West Indies will go into the three-match series against Australia having lost seven consecutive bilateral contests since 2000. They haven’t won a Test series on Australian soil since 1995.

The first Test match of the 2015-16 Frank-Worrell Trophy between Australia and West Indies will be played at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart.The second Test will take place at Melbourne, the 'Boxing Day Test' (26th-30th December) and the third at Sydney (3rd-7th January).

The respective squads are as follows;

Australia: David Warner, Joe Burns, Steven Smith (c), Adam Voges, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Peter Siddle, Josh Hazlewood, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon.

West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite, Rajendra Chandrika, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Jermaine Blackwood, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Jason Holder, Kemar Roach, Jerome Taylor, Jomel Warrican, Shannon Gabriel.