Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Ten of the nation’s best athletes have been selected to represent the America’s at the 2014 edition of the IAAF Intercontinental Cup, to be held in Marrakech,Morocco from September 13- 14.

The athletes include newly crowned Diamond League champion and two time Olympic champion Veronica Campbell-Brown, 400H world leader and four time Diamond league Kaliese Spencer, CommonWealth gold medalist, Triple jumper, Kimberly Williams and quarter-miler Stephanie Ann McPherson.

Novlene Williams- Mills,400m diamond league champion and Glasgow’s 400 silver medalist, Christine Day and Samantha Henry- Robinson rounds out the Jamaican invitees on the women side. World and Olympic Champion Shelly- Ann Fraser Pryce was also invited but has declined the offer.

The male invitees are led by World Championship bronze medalist Nesta Carter, Commonwealth Games champions, 200 meter specialist Rasheed Dwyer, and shott putter Odayne Richards, Commonwealth Games discus bronze medallist Jason Morgan .

The full Americas team, that hope to dethrone the 2013 champions, the African continent , reads:

100m: Mike Rodgers (USA), Richard Thompson (TTO) 200m: Rasheed Dwyer (JAM), Alonso Edward (PAN) 400m: LaShawn Merritt (USA), Luguelin Santos (DOM) 800m: Duane Solomon (USA), Wesley Vazquez (PUR) 1500m: Leo Manzano (USA), Charles Philibert-Thiboutot (CAN) 3000m: Bernard Lagat (USA), Carlos Antonio dos Santos (BRA) 5000m: Andrew Bumbalough (USA), Ivan Lopez (CHI) 3000m steeplechase: Matt Hughes (CAN), Evan Jager (USA) 110m hurdles: Ronnie Ash (USA), Yodan O’Farrill (CUB) 400m hurdles: Javier Culson (PUR), Michael Tinsley (USA) High jump: Derek Drouin (CAN), Erik Kynard (USA) Pole vault: Augusto Dutra (BRA), Mark Hollis (USA) Long jump: Will Claye (USA), Luis Rivera (MEX) Triple jump: Claye, Jonathan Silva (BRA) Shot put: Joe Kovacs (USA), O’Dayne Richards (JAM) Discus: Jorge Fernandez (CUB), Jason Morgan (JAM) Hammer: Roberto Janet (CUB), Kibwe Johnson (USA) Javelin: Tim Glover (USA), Keshorn Walcott (TTO) 4x100m: Nesta Carter (JAM), Kim Collins (SKN), Rodgers, Thompson 4x400m: Chris Brown (BAH), Merritt, Gil Roberts (USA), Santos.

100m: Michelle-Lee Ahye (TTO), Veronica Campbell-Brown (JAM) 200m: Joanna Atkins (USA), Anthoniqu Strachan (BAH) 400m: Francena McCorory (USA), Novlene Williams-Mills (JAM) 800m: Sahily Diago (CUB), Ajee Wilson (USA) 1500m: Shannon Rowbury (USA), Nicole Sifuentes (CAN) 3000m: Gabe Grunewald (USA), Jessica O’Connell (CAN) 5000m: Brenda Flores (MEX), Katie Mackey (USA) 3000m steeplechase: Emma Coburn (USA), Jessica Furlan (CAN) 100m hurdles: Dawn Harper Nelson (USA), Lavonne Idlette (DOM) 400m hurdles: Kori Carter (USA), Kaliese Spencer (JAM)

High jump: Chaunte Lowe (USA), Levern Spencer (LCA) Pole vault: Fabiana Murer (BRA), Jenn Suhr (USA) Long jump: Tianna Bartoletta (USA), Christabel Nettey (CAN) Triple jump: Caterine Ibarguen (COL), Kimberly Williams (JAM) Shot put: Cleopatra Borel (TTO), Michelle Carter (USA) Discus: Gia Lewis-Smallwood (USA), Yaime Perez (CUB)

Hammer: Amanda Bingson (USA), Sultana Frizell (CAN) Javelin: Liz Gleadle (CAN), Kara Patterson (USA)
4x100m: Ahye, Atkins, Bartoletta, Campbell-Brown, Samantha Henry-Robinson (JAM)
4x400m: Christine Day (JAM), McCorory, Stephenie Ann McPherson (JAM), Williams-Mills