Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Champs Fever 2015,St. Jago,Natalliah Whyte,Kimone Shaw,

Photo: Natalliah Whyte wins the 200m final ahead of Sashalee Forbes of Holmwood Technical (not in shot) and Saqukine Cameron of Edwin Allen who finished third. Also in shot is Britney Hew of Holmwood who finished 5th.

In the build up to the 105th staging of the annual Boys and Girls championship, it was always being promoted amongst many pundits that Monk Street, Spanish Town based, St Jago High School was in with a legitimate chance to ambush the defending champions, Edwin Allen High School and regain their hold on the girls title.

Well all did not go according to the script, but what was lived up to its billing was the dominance of St Jago girls in the sprints.

As they did at the variuos development meets staged earlier this year, the team Coach by the experienced tactician Danny Hawthorne secured all but one class of the girls sprint double.

The young Sprinters, with a combination of determination and their blinding foot speed have produced the goods to pocket double gold in class four, class three and class one.

It was class four star, Joanne Reid who first came out to snatch the 100 metre finals in a nipping 12.00 seconds. She was followed by former Class four winner and record holder; Class Three Kimone Shaw who blasted to 11.81 seconds, while pre-race favourite Natalliah Whyte did 11.77 seconds to close out Class One final. Her teammate Shanice Reid, 11.86 seconds was third in the finals.

The clean sweep was prevented by Edwin Allen’s Superstar, Class Two athlete Shellece Clark who won that class in 11.81 seconds.

The same winners came to the fore in the 200 finals, Reid, 24.21 seconds shattering Shaw’s record from 2013. Shaw blazed to 24.60 seconds to win the double, with Whyte romping to victory in 23.56 seconds for her second gold medal. Again Clark (Edwin Allen) obliged in the Class Two equivalent in 24.12 second

St. Jago High also managed to secure two of four sprint relays, Class One in a fast 44.39 after earlier clocking 46.08 seconds for victory in Class Three, with both sprint Gold medalist on anchor.