Red Force lifts Nagico super 50 title against Jaguars

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Nagico Super 50, Trinidad and Tobago,Guyana

Photo: Jason Mohammed

The Queens Park Oval was transformed into a Sea of Red as the Trinidad and Tobago’s Red Force captured their 11th title with an emphatic 135-run win against the Guyana Jaguars last night in the final of the 2015 NAGICO Super50 cricket competition.

The two teams who were coming face to face for the 24th match up and a rematch of the 2009 final where the Trinidad team secured victory then.

It was the night of the mystery spinner Sunil Narine who produced a mesmerizing spell of off-spin bowling as he captured 6-9 from eight overs .

The Red force took to the crease first and was made to toil hard as the Jaguars bowlers, led by 3-22 from Veerasammy Permaul, 2-27 from Royston Crandon and 2-44 from Paul Wintz, restricted them to 200-8 off 50 overs.

The main slayer for the Red force was Jason Mohamed who smacked 117 from 132 balls with 11 four fours and six sixes. He had support from Jeremy Solozano 21, Rayad Emrit 12 n.o and Dwayne Bravo with 10 runs. Chasing 201 for victory at Queen’s Park Oval on Sunday night, Jaguars collapsed from 36 without loss to 65 all out off 24 overs

The injection of the Off-spinner Narine, had the Jaguars reeling at 45-4 as he sent his first victim the Jaguars opener Trevon Griffith and top scorer back to the pavilion, caught at slip for 31 from 28 balls by Keiron Pollard. Narine later trapped Raymond Reifer (1) and Chandrika (7) LBW. He followed up with the scalp of 40-year-old veteran Shiv Chanderpaul, who scored an unbeaten 98 against Jamaica in the semi-final.

Narine, rounded out his six wickets, sending back, Royston Crandon for 3 and Permaul LBW for a duck .

Narine was supported by Dwayne Bravo who finished with two for 29 as well as Mohamed took the last two wickets to end with 2-3 and spark wild celebrations as if it was Carnival itself.

The victory was Red Force’s first regional One-Day title in five years and it made up for the pain of last season’s final when they were beaten by Barbados.

The winning team was the toast of most of the individuals awards at the closing ceremony which saw the Richie Richardson Award (Leading Batsman) going to Jason Mohammed - T&T red force - 203 runs (average: 50.75), Curtly Ambrose award (leading bowler) - Sunil Narine - T&T Red force - 12 wickets (average: 7.25).

The Collis King award (best all rounder) - Jason mohammed - T&T Red force - 203 runs-avg.:50.75/ 9 wickets - avg. 13.67, Jeffrey Dujon award (leading wicket-keeper) - Anthony Bramble - Guyana Jaguars - 10 dismissals. Gus Logie (most outstanding fielder) - Devon Thomas - Leewards Hurricanes.