Jason looks to “hold” Windies ODI team to gather

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Jason Holder,West Indies,

Photo: Jason Holder (WICB Photo)

Young Barbadian fast bowler Jason Holder has been handed the lead role in the West Indies One day International (ODI) team, replacing Dwayne Bravo, for the five-match ODI series against South Africa, which starts on January 16, 2015.

Bravo, who had replaced Darren Sammy as the ODI captain in May 2013, has been left out of the squad for the South Africa one-dayers but is a part of the T20 side.

Bravo led West Indies to victory in 12 of their 27 completed ODIs since taking over full-time from Sammy and a lot of fans have cited victimization as the reason behind his omission from the present team selected for the series.

In the meantime Holder, 23, who made his ODI debut against Australia in February 2013 and has played 21 games, taking 29 wickets with his fast bowling at an average of 28.65 is looking to make good of the job handed down to him. He was quoted as saying;

"I'm very happy to be appointed in this post." "It's something I've always been looking forward to from [the time I was] a youngster. Obviously being able to take over the mantle of Dwayne Bravo is big boots to fill. [I'm] just trying to move the team forward."

West Indies who are ranked a mere eighth in the world in ODIs, with only Bangladesh and Zimbabwe behind them will have their hands full when they come face to face with the South Africans.

The newly named captain however thinks that things can work out in the Windies favour amidst the mammoth task given to him and his charges.

"We're down the pecking order in terms of the rankings, so it's about getting the guys together as best as I possibly can and trying to move up the rankings," Holder said. "I just want to take it step by step."

The full limited over squad reads; Jason Holder ( capt), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Leon Johnson, Chris Gyale, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith and Jerome Taylor.