Foska Oats bats with Tallawahs for fourth straight year

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Andre Russell,Kumar Sangakkara,Jamaica Tallawahs,Caribbean Premier League,Chris Gayle,

Foska Oats has stayed on board with the Jamaica Tallawahs for the fourth edition of the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL). The news was announced at a breakfast/brunch for the players and coaches held at the Melbourne Cricket Club on Tuesday.

“Our team is gearing up for another eventful season of fueling our Jamaica Tallawahs. We look forward to interacting with the players as well as energizing our fellow Jamaicans to push this team to victory”, stated the excited Director of Operations of Caribbean Foods Limited, Mr. Christopher Ramson.

The players all looked comfortable in the environment and look ready to win their second title under Coach Paul Nixon.

“We have that depth in our bowling to take us over the line, we have a balanced squad and I am impressed with our players, the like of Chris Gayle, Rovman Powell and Andre Russell a player that I think can become one of the best all-rounders in the world. It’s about living the moment and doing the right things in each game and ensure the Tallawahs do well," said Nixon.

Shakib Al Hasan was drafted by the Tallawahs, a player that has played with the Barbados Tridents in the first season of the CPL, the year when the Tallawahs won.

“It’s a great feeling to be here again, I played with the Tridents in the first year of (CPL), I am with the Jamaica Tallawahs now and it’s a great feeling being here. I know a lot of the players in the squad and it’s really nice here. I enjoy the people. We are prepared for this season. We have quality players to win the tournament and if we play to our best potential then we will come out victorious,” said the Bangladesh all-rounder Al Hasan.

Jon-russ Jaggesar of Trinidad and Tobago was also drafted by the Tallawahs, his first year in the Caribbean premier League (CPL).

“It’s a good atmosphere. I enjoy being round the guys, my first year in the (CPL) so I am looking to showcase my talent and learn from the experienced guys we have in the squad. It’s a good feeling being around Kumar Sangakkara, Chris Gayle and Andre Russell,’ said Jon-russ Jaggesar.

The squad is made up of seventeen (17) players. Chris Gayle (captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Imad Wasim, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton (wicket-keeper), Dale Steyn, Jon-russ Jaggesar, Andre McCarthy, Jonathan Foo, Alex Ross, Timroy Allen, Oshane Thomas, Kesrick Williams, Gary Mathurin and Nkrumah Bonner.

The tournament's first ever winners will bow into action on Saturday when they take on the St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots at Warner Park in St. Kitts starting at 5:00pm.