Connect with us



Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce,Veronica Campbell-Brown,World Championships,

Photo: Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce powers to 10.79s in winning the Women’s 100m at the JAAA/Supreme Ventures National Athletics Championships last night. Second was her club mate Natasha Robinson 11.03 (just behind her) and third was Veronica Campbell-Brown 11.07. Fourth was Sherone Simpson (lane 1) and Jonielle Smith of Auburn University finished in 8th.

Defending 100m World Champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce was in a no nonsense mood on Friday night, the second day of the JAAA /Supreme Ventures National Athletics Championships, sounding a loud warning to the rest of the world with a super 10.79s to secure the 2015 national Title. The winning time erased her previous world lead of 10. 81s and put to bed any speculation that Fraser-Pryce’s stable mate, Elaine Thompson, had been pulled to protect the World and Olympic champion.

Second place went to fellow MVP athlete Natasha Morrison (11. 03s) and third was many time World and Olympic medalist Veronica Campbell-Brown in 11.06s. Sherone Simpson of Sprint Tech Track club managed to secure the fourth spot in 11.14s and should get the automatic third spot, since Fraser-Pryce is the defending World Champion and therefore has a wildcard entry.

Asafa Powell, exuding a new wave of confidence, was once again in familiar territory as he romped to a quick, 9.84s, the second fastest time in the world for 2015, to crown himself National Champion for the first time since 2011.

Nickel Ashmeade had a very good run for second spot in 9.91 seconds, reducing 2015 Commonwealth Champion, Kemar Bailey- Cole 9.97S to third. Nesta Carter 9.98s was only good enough for fourth spot.

In the Men’s 500m final Kemoy Campbell of University of Arkansas ran all the away against the clock and with cheers from the crowd inside the national stadium, won in 13: 51. 34s.He made light work of all his fellow competitors, lapping them all in the process. A rather jubilant Obrien Frith, 15:22.86 of Holmwood Technical came across for second and Dwayne Graham running unattached finished third 15: 23. 58 seconds.

Commonwealth bronze medalist and Intercollegiate champion, Janieve Russell (55.10s), running with a strap on her right knee, turned back the challenge of the more seasoned campaigners in Shevon Stoddart (55. 29s) and Racers Track athlete Ristananna Tracey (55. 45s) to claim her first national title.

The male equivalent, with the absence of schoolboy sensation Jaheel Hyde due to injury, went to Annsert Whyte of Racers in 48.90 seconds, ahead of Roxroy Cato 49.09 seconds and Cameron Blazers athlete Leford Green third in a modest 49.41s.

Aisha Praught of Nike Oregon track club, blew away the field in the Women’s 1500m to clock a brisk 4:15.91, winning by a margin of about 40m, ahead of Melinda Renaurt of Princeton University, 4: 33.80 and third was GC Foster’s Danielle James 4: 45.87. Praught however wasn’t able to remove the 20 year old record of 4:01.84 held by Yvonne Graham.

The male event was a more competitive affair, with all three competitors running together for three quarters of the race before Oraine Wint of Texas Weslyan ran away to win in 3:54.90s. He was followed home by Nicholas Wint (3:57.61) and Kevin Campbell (4:01.85).

The women’s Discus throw was captured by Daniel Thomas of Kent State University with a mark of 57.67 m. The runner up spots went to Tara Sue Barnett of GC Foster College with 56.56m who finished ahead of Kellion Knibb of Florida State University with 54. 71m.

The women’s long jump went to Chanice Porter of University of Georgia, cutting the sand at 6.39 meters. National Junior Champion for 2015 Tissana Hickling of St Jago High school held on for second with 6.09m and competing unattached Todea Kay Willis, finished third with 5.95 m.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Athletics