MICO & St. Catherine book semis spots

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

Defending champion MICO Masters and St. Catherine Masters booked the remaining semi final spots in the Way & Nephew White Overproof Rum Masters T/20

Cricket Competition on Sunday at Kensington Cricket Club in Kingston.  MICO defeated Moneague Strikers while St. Catherine sent #2 seed Wray All Stars packing with a will timed hattrick by Lascele Davis.


In the first match of the day Moneague Strikers won the toss and batted.  They made 108 for 6 in 20 overs with Devon Reynolds 30, Martin Clarke 28 and Earl Whitter 26 contributing the most runs while the bulk of the wickets went to Carl Brissett bagged 2 for 11 in 4 overs and Solomon Darby 2 for 25 in 4 overs.


MICO won by 9 wickets while making light work of the small total, racing to 110 for 1 in just 13 overs.  Orville Pennant top scored with 55 while Carl Brissett hit a quick 34 to contribute some valuable runs to the total.  The lone wicket went to Vernon Rose with figures of 1 for 24 in 4 overs.


Wray All Stars needed to win their final zone match to stay in contention for a semi final spot.  They were however rocked back by the competition's first hat trick by Lascele Davis of St. St. Catherine who ended with figures of 4 for 10 in 4 overs.  St. Catherine won the match by 7 wickets.


Wray All Stars won the toss and chose to bat.  They were bundled out for just 90 in 18.1 overs.  Former national and West Indies player Nehemiah Perry's top score of 44 could not save them nor could former national representative Randy Nelson's 21.  The first wicket to go was that of former national representative Wayne Lewis for a duck to Davis.  Davis took the hat trick in his second spell sending back Neil Moore - 0, Dennis Moore - 0 and Raymond Gayle also for 0.  Lloyd Spence and Layton Brown took 3 wickets each for 14 and 17 respectively.


St. Catherine Masters raced to 91 for 3 in 16.5 overs with Winston Heathe 30 top scoring.  Nehemiah Perry was the most successful bowler with figures of 2 for 12 in 4 overs.


MICO joins May Pen Lions in Zone A and St. Catherine joins Domtar in Zone B as the four semi final teams.


The final round of preliminary matches will be played on Sunday at Kensington Cricket Club and will feature undefeated teams May Pen Lions and St. Catherine taking on Moneague Strikers and Aerotel/Kool respectively.